Great Stone Face Book Award : The Committee

The Committee
The Great Stone Face (GSF) Committee, sponsored by CLNH, is comprised of children’s librarians from public and school libraries who love to read children’s literature, and who possess an understanding of children’s interests, needs, and issues.  Members form a cross-section of differing skills, knowledge, and life experience.
Committee members participate in the nomination process by reading and evaluating books and by taking part in the discussion of these books at monthly meetings.

2018 Committee Members

Nancy Sheridan
Colby Memorial Library, Danville, NH

Sara Zoe Patterson
Dondero Elementary School, Portsmouth, NH

Lisa Houde, Co-Chair
Rye Public Library, Rye, NH

Mary Souriolle
Portsmouth Public Library, Portsmouth NH

Sarah Hydorn, Co-Chair
Amherst Town Library, Amherst NH

Lorreen  Keating
Tracy Memorial Library,  New London, NH

Susan MacDonald
Weeks Memorial Library, Greenland, NH

Catherine Ryan, Secretary
Danforth Library/NEC  Henniker, NH

Lucia Von Letkemann
Wiggin Memorial Library, Stratham NH

The Co-Chairs of the committee are chosen by the members to represent them at the CLNH Board meetings and at the fall and spring CLNH conferences.  Between them, the chairs preside over the Great Stone Face Tea, keep the members informed of any news relating to the GSF Award, and are responsible for responding to any inquiries from CLNH members and the public at large.  The chairs preside over the monthly GSF meetings and have the same responsibilities as other members.  (The co-chairs are elected for 4 year staggered terms, so that there is always one “older” chair and one “newer” chair serving together. Thus, every 2 years, one new co-chair is elected, while one co-chair steps down after a completing their 4-yr. term.)

The Secretary of the committee is chosen by the members and is responsible for recording the minutes of each meeting.  The Secretary maintains and distributes the consideration list.  The minutes and the monthly consideration list are sent to each member within one week after a meeting.  The Secretary keeps the reviews for each book nominated until the final list is determined.  The Secretary will preside over a meeting if both co-chairs are unavailable.

New members
New members are always welcome on the GSF Committee.  There is a commitment involved, as we attempt to read every book brought to the table.  Meetings are held on the second Friday of every month at the New Hampshire Local Government Center in Concord.  Contact Sarah Hydorn  or Lisa Houde if you are interested.